Logo of West Jaintia Hills District, Government of Meghalaya

Government Of Meghalaya
West Jaintia Hills Districts


West Jaintia Hills District is one of the 11 (eleven) districts of the state of Meghalaya. With the bifurcation of the erstwhile Jaintia Hills District into East and West Jaintia Hills District, West Jaintia Hills District came into existence on 31st July 2012 with its Head Quarter at Jowai. Jowai is the host of all the heads of important governmental offices and establishments, educational institutions, hospitals, banking institutions, etc.

The total area of the district is 1693 Sq.kms. The district comprises of 1(one) Civil Sub-Division Viz. Amlarem Civil Sub-Division and 3(three) Community and Rural Development Blocks viz. Amlarem C&RD Block, Laskein C&RD Block and Thadlaskein C&RD Block with the following boundaries:-

  • North - Assam
  • South - Bangladesh and East Jaintia Hills District
  • East - Assam
  • West - East Khasi Hills District

The district has a total population of 2,70,352, of which 1,34,406 are males and 1,35,946 are females. The density of Population is 159.69 per sq. km.


Meghalaya Tourism   National Portal